Author Meets Subject’s Scrapbook. Also: SNOW!

We woke to snow in Cooperstown. Not the accumulation kind of snow; just the wow, doesn’t late April mean anything kind of snow.

Before setting out to the Hall of Fame, I told my family not to feel bad for me if they were the only ones in attendance at my talk. They promised.

It was a comedy of errors once we arrived, leaving our coats in the car, running for the closest entrance, realizing it was the wrong entrance, running from door to door in the aforementioned snow, until we found our way inside. But we did. And we weren’t late.

My husband, son and daughter were not the only ones in attendance; the seats were all filled. People listened. I talked too fast, forgot to say some important things, and didn’t remember to ask for questions, but somehow I still think it went pretty well. Or well enough. Wellish.

The coolest part was that Stephen Light (who holds the enviable title Manager of Museum Programs at the National Baseball Hall of Fame) had Effa Manley’s actual scrapbook there in the room with us.

I’m only a mild research geek, not the worst kind of research geek, but wow, did I love seeing that. When I had viewed the scrapbook for my research in the Hall’s A. Bartlett Giamatti Research Center, I had looked at a microfiche copy on one of those crazy old machines. This was the real deal. With Effa’s scrawled notes all over the place. I especially liked that after a long, positive story about herself in a New York newspaper, Effa wrote, “This is a good story.” (!) More often she passed along the praise to her husband, Abe.

I loved paging through that scrapbook. (And I didn’t once try to hatch a Lucy-Ricardo-like plan to sneak it out. A true sign of maturity.)

She Loved baseball display at Hall of FameI signed a good number of copies of SHE LOVED BASEBALL, with a bigger smile each time I signed one for a Yankees fan. There was one Mets fan–an eight-year-old–who is the only girl playing baseball in her town’s all-male little league. I smiled quite a bit when signing hers, too.

Perhaps most exciting of all was talking about the possibility of a return appearance next spring. That trip would be in support of my next baseball picture book, BROTHERS AT BAT: THE TRUE STORY OF AN AMAZING ALL-BROTHER TEAM, illustrated by Steven Salerno. There was talk of taking over Doubleday Field for a game….I’m just saying.

Stay tuned.

4 Responses to Author Meets Subject’s Scrapbook. Also: SNOW!

  1. Audrey! I’m not surprised at all that it went well, and I’m sure it was even better than “wellish.”

    Natalie
    Daughter of a Huge Red Sox Fan
    😉

  2. Erin Murphy says:

    How much do I love that eight-year-old girl playing on an all-guy team coming to the Hall of Fame to get a signed copy of SHE LOVED BASEBALL???

    It sounds like an amazing day. Print this blog post, put it in your own scrapbook, and write next to it, “This is a good article. ” 🙂

  3. Audrey,

    Thank you for filling in the rest of the story. This was a joy to read, even though you didn’t hatch the Lucy plan to smuggle out the scrap book. That would have been a good read too, though. I’m just saying.

  4. I’m so happy to hear that you’re working on a new baseball book. I’ll be watching for it.
    Lisa
    Phillies Phan

Leave a Reply

